VA Caregiver Support Program (CSP) - Events - VA Caregiver Support Program
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Caregiver Support Program

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

VA Caregiver Support Program (CSP) - Events

picture of calendar

Welcome to the VA Caregiver Support Program (CSP) Events Page!

Check out the list below and contact your local Veteran Affairs (VA) facility Caregiver Support Coordinator (CSC)/Caregiver Support Program (CSP) team to find events coming to a location near you! CSP teams can be found using the locator tool: https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/New_CSC_Page.asp.

 Events for Caregivers and Families

Peer Support Mentoring Program – Spirituality Calls

The VA Peer Support Mentoring (PSM) Program and the National Chaplain Office will be hosting a 12-month series addressing spiritualty and caregiving. These calls are open to caregivers of Veterans enrolled in both the Program of General Caregiver Support Services (PGCSS) and the Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC).

Calls will be held on the first Friday of each month from 12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. CT; 10:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. MT; 9:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Pacific)  and will be hosted on WebEx using the dial-in information below. There is NO registration required.  Meeting Call in number: USA Toll-free Number 1-833-558-0712.  Meeting number (access code): 2762 030 9378

Topics

  • January 2022 - Spirituality and Renew and Recharge
  • February 2022 - Spirituality and Lifestyle Change
  • March 2022 - Spirituality: Finding Meaning and Purpose
  • April 2022 - Spirituality and PTSD
  • May 2022 - Spirituality and Respite
  • June 2022 - Spirituality and Summer Safety Tips
  • July 2022- To be announced
  • August 2022 - Spirituality and Grief
  • September 2022 - Spirituality and Self Reflection

Caregiver Support Line Education Calls

The VA Caregiver Support Line (CSL) offers free, monthly one-hour telephone education calls for caregivers. These group sessions focus on topics important to caregivers with a different topic presented each month. Caregivers learn about communication skills, building relationships and connections, self-care, and much more. 

 To register for monthly education calls, contact us at 1-855-260-3274.

Caregivers who are unable to attend the calls can access presentations online at www.caregiver.va.gov/support-line/presentations.asp.

Upcoming CSL Education Calls

January 2022- Caring from Afar: Long Distance Caregiving

  • Tuesday, January 4, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, January 12, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, January 19, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

February 2022- Focusing on the Forgotten…Me!

  • Tuesday, February 1, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, February 9, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, February 16, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

March 2022- Goodbye to Going it Alone: Learning to Ask for Help

  • Tuesday, March 1, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, March 9, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, March 16, 2021, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

April 2022 - At Your Wits End? How to Regain your Equilibrium as a Parent and Family Caregiver

  • Tuesday, April 5, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, April 13, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, April 20, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

May 2022 - Balance in the Eye of the Storm: Self-Care When Caring for a Loved One with Mental Health Concerns

  • Tuesday, May 3, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, May 11, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, May 18, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

June 2022- The Three Cs of Caring for Someone with Dementia- Communicating, Coping, and Connecting: A Book Bag of Self-Care Tips

  • Tuesday, June 7, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, June 15, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, June 22, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT 1:00 p.m. MT 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

July 2022- Safe Haven: Building on Family Strength

  • Tuesday, July 5, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, July 13, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific
  • Wednesday, July 20, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

August 2022- Good Grief: Finding Hope in the Necessary Losses of Being a Caregiver

  • Tuesday, August 2, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, August 10, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, August 17, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

September 2022- Caregiving with Dignity: Toileting Help for Caregivers

  • Tuesday, September 6, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, September 14, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • Wednesday, September 21, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

Caregiver and Family Resource Fairs 

Annual Caregiver Family and Resource Fairs are held at every facility. The purpose of resource fairs is to help caregivers connect with a variety of resources, programs, and services at one event. Resource fairs have information and representatives from VA programs, local area non-profits and community agencies to help caregivers learn about what resources are available to support them. All caregivers and families are welcome to attend. Contact your local CSP team for more information about resource fairs using the locator tool: https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/New_CSC_Page.asp.


Virtual Learning Experience

CSP virtual learning experience series to be posted in the future. Join CSP for a great opportunity to learn more about how we can support you as a caregiver.

 Events for VA, Community Providers, & other Professionals - (Veteran Service Organizations, Community Agencies, Non-Profits)

Caregiver Summits

Each facility hosts an annual CSP Caregiver Summit to better understand the needs of caregivers in the local community and identify both gaps and available resources. Caregiver Summits bring together VA, local area non-profits and community agency participants. Together, these entities collaborate, share information, and network, on behalf of caregivers. If you are a provider or other community entity who is interested in supporting caregivers, contact your local CSP team for more information about summits in your area by using the locator tool: https://www.caregiver.va.gov/support/New_CSC_Page.asp.


Need Help?

Call VA’s Caregiver Support Line (CSL) at 1-855-260-3274 to learn more about the support that is available to you, and for assistance connecting with the CSP team, at your local VA facility.

VA CSL Expanded hours:
      -Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. ET
      -Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET

CSP teams  are professionals who provide support and referrals to services. They provide valuable information about resources that can help you to stay informed and supported as you care for your Veteran.

Subscribe to receive email updates and information about VA Caregiver Support Program services.